The Great Western Railway opened Henley-on-Thames station in 1857. There were originally three platforms, serving visitor traffic to the famous Henley Royal Regatta and freight traffic from a nearby goods yard. With the goods yard long closed, the station has been down to a single platform since 1986. The regatta site at Temple Island Meadow is 1.5 miles from the station, easily reachable by taxi or via a pleasant riverside walk of about 25 minutes, passing the charming five-arched Henley Bridge.
The town centre offers many historical sights including The Old Bell, a pub dating back to 1325, and the River and Rowing Museum, located in Mill Meadows and opened by Queen Elizabeth II in the 1990s. The market square is surrounded by independent shops and cafes, making it perfect territory for a lazy afternoon’s shopping – it’s just over five minutes away from the station, via Duke Street. Visitors also come for the Henley Literary Festival, held in late September.